hand-of-adam-and-god

My Soul Thirsts for You

Psalms 63: 1-8

A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah.

63 O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
    my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
    in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
    and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
when I remember you upon my bed,
    and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
for you have been my help,
    and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
My soul clings to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

 

It takes a personal effort to just go beyond the very first verse of this psalm. If our lives does not reflect it, then it means that we are yet not intimate with God. Not being intimate with God will only make us shallow or cosmetic Christians and when the rough gets tough, we will soon find ourselves in the world away from our main source of salvation. It is intimacy with God that we really need in life. So before going further into this psalm let us pray so that the Holy Spirit will give a supernatural craving to have an intimacy with God, that it would be so great that all cravings for other things will look and feel faint compared to such a craving to get more close to God’s own heart.

Holy Spirit we bow down before the glory of God and clearly desire to cut chains from any longings for this world as all we want is to crave for intimate time with our God. All this can only be achieved through your Holy Spirit as we humble and empty ourselves from anything else so that we will allow you full access to fill our heart, minds with thoughts and Godly Desires. Help us to not only start this intimacy journey but to continue through it as we know that it takes a lifetime. We want to be like one of those virgins who had extra oil in the lamp, waiting eagerly for the bridegroom. Increase as we decrease, this we ask and pray in Jesus mighty Name, Amen.

Verse 2 – Going on to verse two, I realise what we have in Christ, that sanctuary which David spoke about, is now us, that is all who accept Jesus as their Lord and Savour have become the sanctuary of the Holy Spirit. Thus means that inside of us there is power and glory, because we have living in us the same Spirit which rose Christ from the death. What else shall we need I ask? What are all the riches of this world in comparison with the eternal riches we have in Christ? Why do we settle for much less, I ask?

Verse 3 – His steadfast love is better than life itself. The problem we have is that we give to much value to this earthly life that we forget what we have acquired through Christ for eternity. Once again settling for less, when we are called for so much more. This is what can be truly achieved through intimacy with God.

Verse 4 – So the least I can do is lift up my hands to you my God and praise you with all my being as a person who once was lost yet now I am found in you. It is not enough for me to just know who you are, I want to know you personally and profoundly.

Verse 5 – True satisfaction is only achieved by knowing you in depth, if not my soul will continue to search other ways and means to be satisfied, yet it will keep on roaming as the only way it can find rest is in you alone oh Lord.

Verse 6 – Meditating on you day and night, this should be my routine to get to know you more. What you feed the most becomes the strongest. Therefore I want to starve to death my ‘old’ being who sometimes resurface and feed my new life in you oh Lord.

Verse 7 – In you Lord I find my shelter and everlasting refuge and while my heart rests in you it will sing songs of joy. No matter what comes against me, I shall be protected by you and in you I will find all I will ever need.

Verse 8 – Clinging that is holding strong to you is the only way I can find my strength and security. Your right hand upholds me and makes me strong to face all the troubles of this world. I am more than an overcomer in you my God as I strive to remain in Christ.

Alton Costa

http://www.JESUSaves.net

