“Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but my tears you have pierced; burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not require. The I said, “Here I am, I have come – I desire to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.” (Psalm 40:6-8)

Most probably today you will be going to the nth worship service, being a weekly schedule, it can easily become just part of our routine and when something falls in this category, its meaning starts to weaken, Sunday after Sunday. As David the psalmist states, we are not going to worship service to do a favour to God, He does not require this kind of routined sacrifice from us. He requires us to say as David said, “Here I am, I have come…….I desire to do your will” This is the kind of attitude we should approach God, and every single day of our lives, with this attitude as we allow the Holy Spirit ground to work through this approach, we would then present to God that kind of worship He truly accepts and delights in.

Therefore let us ask God for forgiveness for approaching His throne of grace with just a routined ritual. Let us empty ourselves from routines and present ourselves to God empty from worldliness and or self so that we allow HIM to fill us with HIS desires and passions as we will be transformed from mere church members to active agents of the Lord empowered by the Holy Spirit.

