railroad

24 But since you refuse to listen when I call

and no one pays attention when I stretch out my hand,

25 since you disregard all my advice
and do not accept my rebuke,
26 I in turn will laugh when disaster strikes you;
I will mock when calamity overtakes you—
27 when calamity overtakes you like a storm,
when disaster sweeps over you like a whirlwind,
when distress and trouble overwhelm you.
28 “Then they will call to me but I will not answer;
they will look for me but will not find me,
29 since they hated knowledge
and did not choose to fear the Lord.

Proverbs (1:24:29)

Before I start reflecting on this scripture, I want to make it clear that God is not merciful, HE is mercy, it is an integral part of God’s nature not a characteristic add-on. Therefore there is no doubt that His mercy is abundant far more than we can ever expect of even think.

On the other hand, will HE wait for us by His mercy endlessly? Reading the above scripture, it is clear that there will be that time when that hedge of protection and grace period will end. As Jesus describes in Matthew 12:31, there is an unpardonable sin, that is the sin against the holy spirit. Yes we might declare with our mouths the Lordship of Jesus with our mouths and yet do the opposite in our daily living. All this will only contribute to living a deceitful life and creating a false sense of security, when in actual terms will lead us to a dead end. In other words, once saved always saved is a myth !

Earlier in Proverbs one in verse seven it states that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom or knowledge. It takes a constant awareness and conviction in knowing that God is always there and is watching all we do, both in public and in our inner room. This kind of conviction can only be enhanced by increasing time in the Word and in prayer. While for those who are still seeking the truth might sound that it is not good to have like a ‘big brother’ lurking over you all the time. For us who accepted Jesus as our Lord and Saviour is the most blessed assurance as we know that the God of the universe is a personal God, always ready to lift us up, strengthen us and be our everlasting presence in time of need.

The Bible does warn us several times that we are living in this grace period, but it can end at any time. The question is, will the Lord find you ready?

So it is time for us all to self-examine ourselves and make sure that we are not just hearers of the Word but doers.

