Image

 

“The Lord was with him; he showed him kindness and granted him favor in the eyes of the prison warden. 22 So the warden put Joseph in charge of all those held in the prison, and he was made responsible for all that was done there. 23 The warden paid no attention to anything under Joseph’scare, because the Lord was with Joseph and gave him success in whatever he did.” (Genesis 39:21-23)

Joseph’s story always fascinates me. When I read it, I always admire Joseph’s great faith in the Lord. He trusted HIM in every circumstance he was in. It surely should speak volumes in our lives as a Christians. Many times we are easily carried away by emotions, feelings, desires and faith would have little to no effect in our decisions. The natural consequence would be wrong decisions and complicated entanglements.

Joseph here is teaching us to be faithful and trust in the Lord always.

Secondly and this is what triggered my writing this morning is God’s favour. We can see that God does repay faithfulness with favour not only in the spiritual realm but also in this world. 

I want you think, how many times you found things to turn favourable to you without you doing a thing? Do you think these happen out of coincidence?

I can remember at least two cases in which I had to working colleagues who had not the easiest character and when talking to them it is like you are talking to a time bomb, always ready to explode. I prayed for them and also tried to always be gentle even though their feedback would not be as tender. God honoured it and one fine day, their attitudes changed unexplainably or better it was God’s favour over me and my place of work.

These are instances in which I can truly understand what it means when the Psalmist said “Oh Taste and see that the Lord is good”

What about you, have you ever experienced such favour? I would love to hear your experience too 🙂

